News flash

Videos of SAL/UER Climate Week events

Racism and the Collapsing Society, Barbara Love and Tim Jackins, June 7, 2020

RC Webinars listing through July 2021

New Online Workshop Guidelines Modifications


 

RC Webinars

DESCRIPTION

“RC Webinars” are RC classes led on Zoom by some of our leaders on important issues for the International Community.  They will be held monthly and be one and a half to two hours long—with theory, mini-sessions (randomly assigned), and demonstrations of counseling. We anticipate a large audience and so they will not be very interactive (though people may submit questions via the chat box—the leader may or may not have time to answer).   

We will charge for the webinar, on a sliding scale from $0 to $25; they will be treated as a Regional Gather-in for financial accounting (Form 400A). Each webinar will have worked out a method for payment.  You must register and pay for each one separately through the webinar organizer, not through RCCR. 

You will need a Reference Person's approval to attend.

When possible the leader will offer the webinar twice on the same day, or in the same couple of days, once in the morning and once in the evening, to make it as accessible as possible for different time zones.  

If a Community wants to organize interpreting for the webinar, we may extend the length a bit.  Please notify the organizer of the webinar in advance so that we may plan for interpreting.  

Registration for the webinars should be done through the Registration link rather than by emailing the organizer.

We’ve listed all times in east coast USA (EDT or EST—depending on whether it is daylight savings time [EDT] or standard time [EST]) and added the time in UTC.  If time zones are confusing to you and you want to convert to your time zone, I find this Time Zone Converter useful.  You can put in New York City (east coast USA) and then your city, and it will tell you the time the webinar will happen in your time zone.

Information for webinar organizers is found here.

SCHEDULED WEBINARS

"Staying hopeful and engaged during crises and collapse”

Led by Diane Shisk, ICRP for Care of the Environment

How can we stay hopeful as we move from handling one crisis to another?  As society collapses on people we love, how do we keep connected and reaching for one another?  How do we face the biggest challenge humankind has ever faced in the climate emergency, while staying fully engaged with others in our common struggle for transformative change?  Discharging our way to staying hopeful and connected is key to being able to identify and seize opportunities to make the changes we must to build the society we envision.

Organizer: Bob Romero <bobromero@gmail.com>

Tech lead: Sparky Griego <sgriego@rocketmail.com>

Times: Saturday, July 10, 2021, 10 am - 12:30 pm  EDT (New York), 3 - 5:30 pm BST (London), 5 - 7:30 pm EAT (Nairobi), 7:30 - 10:00 IST (Pune), 11 pm - 1:30 am JST (Tokyo)

Saturday, July 10, 2021,  6 - 8:30 pm EDT (New York), 11 pm - 1:30 am BST (London), 7 - 9:30 am JST (Tokyo), 8 - 10:30 am AEST (Sydney)

Registration Link:  https://www.rc.org/workshop/stayinghopeful2021


 

"Every Child Matters- The role and effects of the residential/boarding school system

Lead by Darlene Daniels, Anishinew (Ojicree) Garden Hill First Nation, Manitoba Canada. ARP for Winnipeg, Manitoba. Darlene travels internationally, when invited, to teach Revaluation Counselling in grassroots Indigenous communities.

The legacy of the residential/boarding school effects every person in living on North America (turtle Island) or Australia. The goal was to “kill the Indian in the child” by removing them from their families, stripping them of language, culture, and community. Canada had an expensive Truth and Reconciliation process where survivor, after survivor testified about mass graves. Nothing was done. There has been direct actions to by first nation peoples to start the discovery process with up the initial finding of 215 unmarked graves the current number is 1,333 discovery. The number will continue to grow in Canada and the USA. Join us for an informational webinar on the grave site, with information how to educate and discharge to continue towards being an ally to Indigenous people.

Organizer: Kate Insolia kjinsolia@gmail.com

Tech Lead: Chris Selig cseligrc@gmail.com

Date:  Monday, July 12, 2021 (Tuesday, July 13, Asia/Australia)

Time:  Monday 4 - 6 pm PDT (Seattle), 6 - 8 pm CDT (Manitoba), 7 - 9 pm EDT (New York), Tuesday 8 - 10 am (Tokyo), 9 - 11 am (Sydney)

Interpretation into Spanish 

Registration Link:  https://rc.org/workshop/everychildmatters2021


 

"Is there any point in trying to relate to the Owning class? Could the Owning class be relevant when trying to transform society? What do I need to know about the Owning class as a revolutionary?”  

Led by Jo Saunders

Everyone has been victimised by owning class domination, both economic and social. If there is a willingness to find out about them, how they were hurt, why their patterns are so vicious, it leads to an understanding of their humanness  There can be an empowering of any one trying to do this. They can effectively interrupt and alter the behaviour. Here is a possibility to learn how to turn your oppressor into your ally and supporter.

Organizer:  Heidi Morford <chevrina@gmail.com>

Tech:  Tamara Damon <tkdamon@me.com>

Please note the below dates and times have been corrected from any past information posted.

Session A:

Sunday, August 15, 11:00 - 1:30 pm (London), 7:00 - 9:30 pm (Tokyo), 8 - 10:30 pm (Sydney), 6:00 - 8:30 am (New York)

Session B:

Sunday, August 15, 6:30 - 9 pm (London), 10:30 am - 1 pm (Seattle), 1:30 pm - 4 pm (New York)

Register here:
https://www.rc.org/workshop/relatetotheowningclass2021


Last modified: 2021-07-08 23:09:09+00