RC Webinars

DESCRIPTION

“RC Webinars” are RC classes led on Zoom by some of our ILRP/ICRPs and RRPs on important issues for the International Community.  They will be held monthly and be one and a half to two hours long—with theory, mini-sessions (randomly assigned), and demonstrations of counseling. We anticipate a large audience and so they will not be very interactive (though people may submit questions via the chat box—the leader may or may not have time to answer).   

We will charge for the webinar, on a sliding scale from $0 to $25; they will be treated as a Regional Gather-in for financial accounting (Form 400A). Each webinar will have worked out a method for payment.  You must register and pay for each one separately through the webinar organizer, not through RCCR. 

You will need a Reference Person's approval to attend.

When possible the leader will offer the webinar twice on the same day, or in the same couple of days, once in the morning and once in the evening, to make it as accessible as possible for different time zones.  

If a Community wants to organize interpreting for the webinar, we may extend the length a bit.  Please notify the organizer of the webinar in advance so that we may plan for interpreting.  

Registration for the webinars should be done through the Registration link rather than by emailing the organizer.

We’ve listed all times in east coast USA (EDT or EST—depending on whether it is daylight savings time [EDT] or standard time [EST]) and added the time in UTC.  If time zones are confusing to you and you want to convert to your time zone, I find this Time Zone Converter useful.  You can put in New York City (east coast USA) and then your city, and it will tell you the time the webinar will happen in your time zone.

Information for webinar organizers is found here.

SCHEDULED WEBINARS

“Summarizing the work done coming from Ending Classism Workshops led by the four ILRPs of Class”

Led by Dan Nickerson, International Liberation Referemce Person for Working Class people

Dan will share the new insights and directions for the community coming from these workshops, including our 2017 RC Community Goal on Ending Classism.  The RC work being done to organize Direct Production Workers will be highlighted.  The questions “Who is or isn’t a Direct Production worker?"  and “Why are we highlighting this group of workers?” will be addressed as well as other confusions such as “What class am I?” and “Where do I belong?”   The unifying direction for all of us is to end our submission to the rigid roles that a class society has imposed on us and that we have internalized. We will all have the opportunity to look at that.

Organizer:
Shari Briggs, sharibriggs@gmail.com

Times: May 8, 2021, 10 am - 1 pm  EST (New York), 3 - 6 pm BST (London), 11 pm - 2 am JST (Tokyo)

May 8, 2021,  6 - 9 pm EST (New York), 11 pm - 2 am BST (London), 7 - 10 am JST (Tokyo)

 Register here:
https://www.rc.org/workshop/summarizingendingclassism2021


“Discharging on sexism-male domination”

Led by Diane Balser, ILRP for Women, assisted by Tokumbo Bodunde, ARP, Crown Heights-Lefferts Garden, NYC.

THIS WEBINAR IS FOR WOMEN AND MEN. Open to all females and males who have completed a fundamentals cycle. 

Male domination and sexism are central to class societies. Almost all, if not all class societies have been male dominated. Male domination and sexism overlap and are both systematic. Sexism is the system in which men are the agents of female oppression. Male domination is the larger system, integral to class and every other oppression in which men oppress men as well as all women. While one can imagine the ending of many other oppressions, there has not been a vision or a projected possibility of a society without sexism and male domination. Discharging on sexism-male domination is central work in transforming oppressive societies. 

Organizer: Adley Gartenstein adleyrc@gmail.com

Date: June 6, 2021 (webinar will happen twice on this day)

Times: Section A: 10am-12:30 pm ET (New York); 3pm-5:30pm BT (London); 11pm- 1:30am JT (Tokyo); 12am-2:30am AET (Sydney)

Section B:  6:30pm-9 pm ET (New York); 11:30pm -2 am BT (London); 7:30am -10 am JT (Tokyo); 8:30-11am AET (Sydney)

Registration Link:

https://www.rc.org/workshop/dischargingsexismmaledomination2021

 


"Staying hopeful and engaged during crises and collapse”

Led by Diane Shisk

How can we stay hopeful as we move from handling one crisis to another?  As society collapses on people we love, how do we keep connected and reaching for one another?  How do we face the biggest challenge humankind has ever faced in the climate emergency, while staying fully engaged with others in our common struggle for transformative change?  Discharging our way to staying hopeful and connected is key to being able to identify and seize opportunities to make the changes we must to build the society we envision.

Organizer: Bob Romero <bobromero@gmail.com>

Tech lead: Sparky Griego <sgriego@rocketmail.com>

Times: Saturday, July 10, 2021, 10 am - 12:30 pm  EST (New York), 3 - 5:30 pm BST (London), 5 - 7:30 pm EAT (Nairobi), 7:30 - 10:00 IST (Pune), 11 pm - 1:30 am JST (Tokyo)

Saturday, July 10, 2021,  6 - 8:30 pm EST (New York), 11 pm - 1:30 am BST (London), 7 - 9:30 am JST (Tokyo), 8 - 10:30 am AEST (Sydney)

Registration Link:  https://www.rc.org/workshop/stayinghopeful2021


THIS EVENT IS BEING RESCHEDULED, STAY TUNED FOR NEW DATES

"Is there any point in trying to relate to the Owning class? Could the Owning class be relevant when trying to transform society? What do I need to know about the  Owning class as a revolutionary?”  

Led by Jo Saunders

Everyone has been victimised by owning class domination, both economic and social. If there is a willingness to find out about them, how they were hurt, why their patterns are so vicious, it leads to an understanding of their humanness  There can be an empowering of any one trying to do this. They can effectively interrupt and alter the behaviour. Here is a possibility to learn how to turn your oppressor into your ally and supporter.

Organizer:  Hanne Weedon
<hhweedon67@gmail.com>

Tech:  Tamara Damon
<tkdamon@me.com>

Times: TBD

Register here:
https://www.rc.org/workshop/relatetotheowningclass2021


Last modified: 2021-05-06 16:36:32+00