News flash

U.S. Election Support Drop-In Support Groups and Think-and-Listens

Racism and the Collapsing Society, Barbara Love and Tim Jackins, June 7, 2020

Download Tim Jackins talk: Boldly Working Together in New Ways (RC Teacher Update CD #62)

RC Webinars listing through 2020

New Guidelines for Online Classes and other important messages from Tim during the COVID-19 pandemic

 

RC Webinars

DESCRIPTION

“RC Webinars” are RC classes led on Zoom by some of our ILRP/ICRPs and RRPs on important issues for the International Community.  They will be held every 3 weeks and be one and a half to two hours long—with theory, mini-sessions (randomly assigned), and demonstrations of counseling.  We anticipate a large audience and so they will not be very interactive (though people may submit questions via the chat box—the leader may or may not have time to answer).   

We will charge for the webinar, on a sliding scale from $0 to $25; they will be treated as a Regional Gather-in for financial accounting (Form 400A). Each webinar will have worked out a method for payment.  You must register and pay for each one separately through the webinar organizer. 

You will need a Reference Person's approval to attend.

When possible the leader will offer the webinar twice on the same day, or in the same couple of days, once in the morning and once in the evening, to make it as accessible as possible for different time zones.  

If a Community wants to organize interpreting for the webinar, we may extend the length a bit.  Please notify the organizer of the webinar in advance so that we may plan for interpreting.  

Registration for the webinars should be done through the Registration link rather than by emailing the organizer.

We’ve listed all times in east coast USA (EDT or EST—depending on whether it is daylight savings time [EDT] or standard time [EST]) and added the time in UTC.  If time zones are confusing to you and you want to convert to your time zone, I find this Time Zone Converter useful.  You can put in New York City (east coast USA) and then your city, and it will tell you the time the webinar will happen in your time zone.

SCHEDULED WEBINARS

"Key Legal Aspects of Native Liberation that Impact Us All”

Native Americans, First Nations people of what is Canada and Indigenous people of Mexico have certain sovereign rights that were acknowledged in treaties and the various countries constitutional laws. We have a different legal status from other citizens of these three countries. I will present numerous content-basic facts, with mini-sessions in between every other key topic, and a couple of short demonstrations.  Topics include: legal status, sovereignty, treaty law, constitutional law, State-Tribal Relations, and more.  

Marcie Rendon, Sunday, September 6, 10 am - 12 pm CDT / 11 am - 1 pm EDT (New York, USA) / 15:00 - 17:00 UTC and 6 - 8 pm CDT / 7 - 9 pm EDT / 23:00 - 01:00 UTC
Organizer: Kate Insolia <kjinsolia@gmail.com

Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/keylegalaspectnativeliberation2020


"Alcohol as a Liberation Issue"

The RC Guidelines state that teachers of RC are expected not to engage in or defend the use of alcohol, marijuana or other mind-altering drugs. There is tremendous misinformation about alcohol, and a US$1.5 trillion industry actively promotes its use, particularly to young adults. Most co-counselors, like most people,  look at alcohol use as an individual decision. Yet alcohol historically and to this day plays a key role in a wide range of oppressions. It is helpful to put decisions about drinking into this larger liberation context. The webinar will do just that, providing information and giving people a chance to discharge about their own and/or their families’ or communities’ history with alcohol, their personal decisions or policies about alcohol use, and how to take on alcohol as a liberation issue. David Jernigan, the leader of the webinar, has been a regional reference and assistant international liberation reference person in RC, and has worked on alcohol issues all over the world for more than 30 years.

Led by: David Jernigan, Saturday, October 17, 10 am - noon EDT (New York, USA) /  14:00 - 16:00 UTC and Sunday, October 18, 6 - 8 pm EDT (New York, USA) / 22:00 - 24:00 UTC

Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/alcoholasliberationissue2020


"Liderando nuestra vida hacia la conexión y la gentileza"

Frenar la emergencia climática es prioritario. Para lograrlo, necesitamos tejer una red de conexiones, relaciones y alianzas que atraviesen efectivamente las heridas que nos separan a unas personas de otras y del resto de la naturaleza. 

El imperialismo, la colonización, el capitalismo, el racismo y el intento de genocidio han dejado heridas que nos confunden sobre nuestro poder y nuestra capacidad de acción. Esta es una invitación a caminar de regreso a la conexión intrínseca a nuestra naturaleza humana, y a tu poder para cambiar el mundo. 

Liderado por Iliria Unzueta, PRR de México, sábado 7 de noviembre, 10:00 - 12:00 (CST México) / 11 am - 1 pm (EST) (New York, USA) / 16:00 - 18:00 UTC and domingo el 8 de noviembre, 17:00 - 19:00 (CST México) / 6 - 8 pm (EST) (New York, USA) / 23:00 - 01:00 UTC

Organizadora: Yara I. Alma Bonilla <conexion.y.gentileza@gmail.com>

Registration link: https://www.rc.org/workshop/dirigiendonuestrasvidas2020

 

"Leading our lives toward connection and kindness" 

Stopping the climate emergency is a priority. In order to address it, we need to weave a network of connections, partnerships and alliances that effectively cross over the hurts that separate people from each other and from the rest of nature. 

Imperialism, colonization, capitalism, racism and attempted genocide have left wounds that confuse us about our own power and capacity for action. This is an invitation to walk back to the connection inherent to our human nature, and to your power to change the world. 

Led by: Iliria Unzueta, RRP of Mexico, Saturday, November 7, 10:00 - 12:00 (CST México) / 11 am - 1 pm (EST) / 16:00 - 18:00 UTC and Sunday, November 8, 17:00 - 19:00 (CST México) / 6 - 8 pm (EST) / 23:00 - 01:00 UTC

Organized by: Yara I. Alma Bonilla <conexion.y.gentileza@gmail.com>

Registration link:  https://www.rc.org/workshop/leadingourlives2020


"Let’s Build a United Front - Reaching for Everyone from Where You Are!”

As we continue to face a collapsing society, we need a United Front more than ever if we are to work for the creation of a future without exploitation.  We have the tools that allow us to work together and help each other across the divisions that the oppressive society has installed on all of us.  In this webinar, Dorothy Marcy, the Regional Reference Person for Arkansas, Louisiana and surrounding states in the Southern United States, will talk about  the work she is doing, both inside and outside of RC, in working with white people on racism as an African Heritage woman – how she organizes her work and a mini-workshop showing what she does in her wide world.

Led by: Saturday, November 28, 11 am - 1 pm (EST) (New York, USA) / 16:00 - 18:00 UTC and 7 - 9 pm (EST) (New York, USA) / 00:00 - 02:00 UTC
Organizer: MaryRuth Gross <maryruthgross@gmail.com>

Registration link: https://www.rc.org/workshop/letsbuildaunitedfront2020


 "The Basics of Being an Ally to Young People"

This is a one-time class on the basics of being an ally to young people. What are the best perspectives to hold about young people’s liberation? Jenny will be talking about the current situation for young people - climate change, pandemic, and racism. As allies, we are also fighting for ourselves and remembering our own love of life and connection to humans of all ages. There will be a theory presentation, demonstrations of counseling, and a mini session with a random counselor.

Led by: Jenny Sazama, Sunday, December 20, from 10am to 12pm EST (New York, USA) / 15:00 - 17:00 UTC and 6 to 8pm EST (New York, USA) / 23:00 - 01:00 UTC
Organizer: Daniel Schaffer <danielschafferbrooklyn@gmail.com>

Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/allytoyp2020


 


Last modified: 2020-08-29 18:11:29+00