News flash

Videos of SAL/UER Climate Week events

Racism and the Collapsing Society, Barbara Love and Tim Jackins, June 7, 2020

RC Webinars listing through July 2021

New Online Workshop Guidelines Modifications


 

RC Webinars

DESCRIPTION

“RC Webinars” are RC classes led on Zoom by some of our leaders on important issues for the International Community.  They will be held monthly (now twice a month) and be one and a half to two hours long—with theory, mini-sessions (randomly assigned), and demonstrations of counseling. We anticipate a large audience and so they will not be very interactive (though people may submit questions via the chat box—the leader may or may not have time to answer).   

We will charge for the webinar, on a sliding scale from $0 to $25; they will be treated as a Regional Gather-in for financial accounting (Form 400A). Each webinar will have worked out a method for payment.  You must register and pay for each one separately through the webinar organizer, not through RCCR. 

You will need a Reference Person's approval to attend.

When possible the leader will offer the webinar twice on the same day, or in the same couple of days, once in the morning and once in the evening, to make it as accessible as possible for different time zones.  If not offered twice, Regions for whom the webinar was inaccessible can contact the leader and offer to organize a second time.

If a Community wants to organize interpreting for the webinar, we may extend the length a bit.  Please notify the organizer of the webinar in advance so that we may plan for interpreting.  

Registration for the webinars should be done through the Registration link rather than by emailing the organizer.

We’ve listed all times in east coast USA (EDT or EST—depending on whether it is daylight savings time [EDT] or standard time [EST]) and some other time zone.  If time zones are confusing to you and you want to convert to your time zone, I find this Time Zone Converter useful.  You can put in New York City (east coast USA) and then your city, and it will tell you the time the webinar will happen in your time zone.

Information for webinar organizers is found here.

We're still filling out the schedule, keep checking back.

SCHEDULED WEBINARS 2021

November 14,  “How to lead great groups on the climate emergency without knowing very much—you can do it!” Hoping to prepare more people to lead groups on the climate emergency, especially as part of the Regional climate change focus happening early in 2022.
Led by Diane Shisk.
Time: 12 - 2 pm EST,  5 - 7 pm GMT/UTC
Organizer--Bob Romero <bobromero@gmail.com>
Tech lead--Sparky Griego <sgriego@rocketmail.com>
Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/howtoleadontheclimateemergency2021

December 19 “Report back on COP26,”
Led by Janet Kabue and Teresa Enrico 
Tech lead: Sparky Griego <sgriego@rocketmail.com>
Time: 12 - 2 pm EST, 5 - 7 pm GMT/UTC
Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/reportbackoncop262021


SCHEDULED WEBINARS 2022

January 8, "Creating a promising future: ending capitalism before it destroys us" 
Led by Julian Weissglass
Organizer: Eileen Nemzer <nemzer@gmail.com>
Tech leads: Session 1 - Urbain Romaric Bamana-Yangou <urbainbamana@yahoo.com>, Session 2 - Phung Pham <phungis@gmail.com>
Times: SESSION 1 January 8, 9 AM - 11:30 AM PST, 12 PM - 2:30 PM EST, 5 PM – 7:30 PM GMT, 6:00-8:30 WAT, 8:00-10:30 EAT, 10:30 PM - 1:00 AM IST, January 9, 2:00 AM - 4:30 AM JST, 4 AM - 6:30 AM AEST and 
SESSION 2 January 8, 4:30 - 7:00 PM PST, 7:30 PM - 10:00 PM EST, January 9, 12:30 AM – 3:00 AM GMT, 1:30 AM - 4:00 AM WAT, 3:30 AM - 6:00 AM EAT, 6:00 AM - 8:30 AM IST, 9:30 AM -12:00 PM JST, 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM AEST
Registration link: https://www.rc.org/workshop/promisingwwc2022

January 15, "Agriculture and climate change."
Led by Eric Toensmeier
Times: 12 - 2 pm EST, 5 - 7 pm GMT/UTC
Registration link: https://www.rc.org/class/agricultureandclimatechange2021

January 29, “Women and Physical Power and Health”
Led by Teresa Enrico, Sparky Griego, and Team
Times: 11 am EST, repeated at 7 pm EST
Organizer: Amanda Ayala.  Tech lead: Amparo Vigil
Note: We will be sending registration info via the Women's List

February 26, “Parenting teens"
Led by Marya Axner
Times: 12 - 2 pm EST

February 27, “Movement Building for the Climate Emergency” 
Led by Nina Eichner
Times: 12 - 2 pm EST
Organizer: Jeremy Bloch <greenbloch@gmail.com>
Tech lead: Chris Austill

March 12, “Facing what we must to take on the Climate Emergency” 
Led by Shani Fletcher
Times: 12 - 2 pm EST

March 27, "Understanding Contemporary Issues on Jewish Liberation: Understanding the intersection of antisemitism and racism; Understanding the role of Israel and the politicization of antisemitism in the current period. This webinar is for both Jews and Allies” 
Led by Cherie Brown
Times: 12 pm EST -  2 pm EST
Organizer: Steven Kleinman Kleinman@icloud.com

April 16 or 17, “Indigenous People and the Climate Emergency” 
Led by Alison Ehara Brown and Isabella Zizi

April _____, “Allies to LGBTQ+” 
Led by Jeanne d’Arc and David Nijinsky

May 15, “Black People and the Climate Emergency” 
Led by Barbara Love

May _____, “Allies to Transgender People” 
Led by Jeanne d’Arc, David Nijinsky, and Homer Simpson

June 18, "Climate, Disability and ‘Vulnerability’ ” 
Led by Marsha Saxton
Times: 11 am - 1 pm

June 26, "The importance of Art in these times or Important role of art and artists” 
Led by Emily Feinstein
Times: 12 - 2 pm EDT

July 9, Native panel
Led by Marcie Rendon, Ayana Morse, Kate Insolia

July 16,  "Latin America and the Climate Emergency” 
Led by Dulce Cisneros & Malinali Casteñeda Romero
Times: 12 - 2 pm EDT

August 20, "We Want to Live: Our Water, Art & Climate Justice Movements,” 
Led by AL Caballes
Times: 12 - 2 pm EDT

August 31, "Language Liberation” 
Led by P. Xabi Odriozola Ezeitza

September 17-18, "Just transition” 
Led by Tara Villalba & Joanie Parker

September 17-18, ‘War and Climate Change” 
Led by Azi Khalili & Nazish Riaz

October, "MHL for Everyone” 
Led by Jenny Martin

October 23, "Class, Climate, and Collapse” 
Led by Seán Ruth
Times: 11:00 am - I:00 pm EST

November 2022, "Climate Change in Africa" 
Led by Janet Kabue

November 2022, "Climate Change in the Pacific"
Led by Teresa Enrico

December 2022, “Allies to Chicanas/Chicanos"
Led by Lorenzo Garcia and Maria Franco

January 2023, “Elders liberation”
Led by Jerry Yoder

February 12, 2023, “How Young people’s liberation is liberation for YOU at this current moment in history”--This is a one-time class where Jenny will be talking about young people’s liberation as YOUR/OUR liberation. What we can learn about fun and closeness, by being allies to young people especially during these times as we face the climate crisis, pandemic and systematic racism. As allies we will need to be skillful and strategic in using the counseling process to fight for ourselves, remembering our own love of life and our connection to humans of all ages. There will be theory presentations, demonstrations of counseling, and mini sessions.
Led by Jenny Sazama

 


Last modified: 2021-11-12 19:22:46+00